Java IDEs for x86_64


As I’ve mentioned before, I run Ubuntu on an AMD64 processor. I was recently surprised to see that running the new release of Eclipse (Europa) was causing me issues. Basically, Java (or the native parts of these projects) was throwing a wobbly when trying to run 32-bit code on a 64-bit JVM. I thought the goal of Java was write once, run anywhere!

It took me a while, but I managed to find a 64-bit install of Europa. You have to take the “Eclipse Classic” SDK version for Linux x86_64. This installed and ran using the default instructions provided (unzip and run).

Netbeans 6.0M9 gave me similar issues a while back. I never got around to fixing it, but I noticed yesterday that 6.0M10 has been released. This installed and ran straight away. I guess they’ve included x86_64 support in the installer now.

I got no excuses for not developing something useful now :-)

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

