Carran Loop Walk


Carran Loop Walk Waymarker

Carran Loop Walk Waymarker

Having lived the good life for the Holidays it seemed only necessary to take a walk, if nothing else to assuage my guilt for my recent overindulgence. Ted (my trusty Labrador) and I headed for the Clare hills, and to the Carran Loop Walk.

Parking is available at Cassidy’s Pub in Carran village, and this is where the trail starts and finishes.  There are two loops available, a short 4k and a longer 9k loop, each taking you though the Burren’s somewhat lunar landscape of exposed limestone slab, and past historic churches and holy wells.  The terrain is undulating, but well way marked.

Though both links below estimate walking time at 3-4 hours, I found it easy to cover the ground in 2.

Further Information

Tags: , ,

